Bad Wheel Baring?

Hi my name is Darren I have a mk4 vw golf and I have been diagnosed with a bad wheel baring due to a lot of play being found in the passenger side wheel… I’m no mechanic but I have a fair knowledge and know enough to get by So I’m going to change the baring my self. If I need to. My problem is that the baring is not making any noise what so ever, runs smoothly can’t hear a thing while driving it… I was under the impression that a bad baring always make a growing noise… This is where I need some help… Could it be something else causing the play?

This is why I always recommend a second opinion. Yes, something else could be causing the play, or there might not be any play at all. You can move a wheel side to side even when there is no play, but you will notice that the other wheel and the steering will will move in sync.

So what would you recommend to do in terms of diagnosis. I have the facilities to press the new baring in if need be but would rather spend the money fixing an actual problem

Check for play yourself as Keith recommends. There may well be no problem at all, a mis-diagnosis.

What is the actual problem, excessive tire wear, steering issues, vehicle stability (wandering)?

I went for a mot and it failed because of excessive play in the passenger slide wheel

mot?

In the uk, we have a safer test done on our cars annually as you probably do too, ours is known as a MOT

Or it could be a bad ball joint or tie rod end for that matter.
Personally, I never had a bad bearing that wasn’t barking about it long before it resulted in excessive play…but I’ve had numerous ball type joints that were really getting loose and hardly noticeable until inspected for it…