AWD and 4WD

Hello, I am new to these forums and had a hard time finding an answer to this question I had. Are transfer cases used in AWD and 4WD vehicles? or just in 4WD vehicles? I know AWD uses a center differential but also read they can have a transfer case. I’m an auto student and it’s just really confusing me haha. If someone could shed some light on this for me it would be much appreciated!

It is vehicle and model even option specific. No general answer. For example a Honda Pilot has something call real time 4wd however it is really AWD.

Samples of vehicles with a transfer case AND center differential are Jeep products with certain options like the Compass, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee etc.

AWD spins the spare tire as well as the four drive wheels.

There’s no clear difference between AWD and 4WD. When I think of ‘transfer case’, I think of an ‘old style’ 4WD vehicle which normally is in RWD. It’ll have a lever or switch that can engage 4WD/AWD, and often has a ‘neutral’ setting where the engine is disengaged from both axles. Old style 4WD would have no center differential, and was engaged only in slick conditions. But “4WD” is a label now used for lots of vehicles that I would call AWD.

Unless you live in “Snow Country” and feel you MUST drive during winter storms, AWD has more negative aspects than positive…Most drivers can live without it…

Thanks for the replies. So to reply to andrewRA, something like the 2014 Nissan Juke would have a transfer case and center dif because you are able to select 2WD or AWD with a switch?

No, it’s FWD-based, I think of ‘transfer case’ with RWD based pickup trucks and SUVs. In my opinion.

A transfer case is typically a large gear box hooked to the rear of the transmission:

Don’t get hung up on the nomenclatures. A transfer case is any assembly that distributes the torque from the transmission output shaft to both the front and rear wheels. It can be a system engaged by the driver or be full-time.