Audi nightmare

AUDI NIGHTMARE

Our AUDI (A-6 QUATTRO ’01 116K mi.) is a beautifully designed car and a pleasure to drive when it is running. I am an architect (MIT ’60) and aesthetics mean a lot, but there is a limit.

This blog started out as a complaint, then a shout and now outrage.

Here are some of the issues.

1. Timing belt: why in the world do we have a belt that drives the overhead cams that also drives a chain? An outside belt means a seal that can leak (and does) and involves removal of the radiator for access as well as part of the front end. This is supposed to occur at every 100K, so plan ahead. Dealer mech. $1800
    My mech. $1200

2. Front axles: right replaced 1 year ago after boot fell off. $360

3. left replaced a week ago having broken with no warning whatsoever, luckily it occurred near home and not on a trip.(thank you AAA!) $360

4. ABS sensor on left axle damaged when axle broke: replaced. $320

5. LEAKS: EVERY SEAL IN THIS CAR LEAKS: here are some of them:
    a. timing belt seal $800
    b. valve cover incl. with timing replacement)
    c. chain drive casing $700
    d. transmission ?
    e. power steering $1200

Why the left axle broke is still a mystery, since the boots were intact. I can only surmise that it was inadequately lubricated, but there was no way to tell. Note when you replace the axle in the Audi, you have to replace the entire assembly and throw away most of the parts that show no ware for the few parts that do.

The other surprise was the sensor: all we knew was that in depressing the brakes before coming to a stop the pedal kicked back with a sort of grating sound.