ATF in my oil change!

I was changing my oil in my 04 4Runner and found ATF mixed in. I checked my atf level and it was low. I began adding new oil to the engine and after about 4 quarts I ran the engine. Turned it off and checked the level and it was way above the full indicator. How is ATF getting into my engine!?

How do you know it is ATF that is getting into your engine? Are you checking the correct dipstick?

I’m not a mechanic but I do my own general vehicle maintenance. This was just a routine oil and filter change. The oil had a reddish tint and was thinner than it should’ve been, and I could smell the atf in it. Also my transmission fluid was low. So I’m certain that it’s transmission fluid. I just don’t know how it could get into my engine.

I don’t know of anyplace where the ATF and oil share space, but there is an ATF cooler in the radiator. How is your coolant looking?

I do know of two cases where a professional mechanic drained the transmission and then overfilled the engine. Now by professional mechanic, I mean they were being paid to do mechanics work.

Edit: BTW one was a Toyota Corolla.

1 Like

Only thing I can think of, You added transmission fluid to your engine instead of motor oil.
Bottles of oil mis-labeled, or you didn’t look close enough at the bottle.

Don’t get upset but I tend to think this is operator error and do not feel bad about making a mistake. There’s not a highly competent mechanic on the face of the Earth who has not made a error or two along the way. And one or two of those errors cough makes you wonder WTH they were thinking…

You might want to check if the vehicle has a bad modulator valve.

https://parts.olathetoyota.com/blog/diagnose-failing-modulator-valve

Tester

1 Like

Could it be possible that the transmission cooler in the radiator is cracked, mixing with the coolant and then getting through a blown head gasket?

1 Like

Thank you for the link. It was very informative. I will check this promptly.