Are my driving habits creating hot spots on my rotors?

In March of this year I had front brakes & rotors changed on my Ford Ranger (1995 V6 2.3L manual transmission). About nine months later, I began noticing vibration when braking, especially at highway speeds. (Certainly could have been coming on sooner, but I did not notice.) The mechanic said there were “hot spots” on the rotors so he rotated them & charged me. From talking to other folks, I agree that the rotors were the most likely cause. BUT the mechanic insists that I need to change my driving habits (implying that I caused the problem) by downshifting to slow down & thereby sparing the brakes. I have been driving this truck for 15 years & have never had this problem. I do brake when I need to slow down - I assume that is what brakes are for! I asked if there is any other reason the rotors could have a problem including defective parts, improper installation, etc. & the mechanic insisted that he never has this problem. In the end I did pay but demanded that if this problem recurred I would not pay again & he agreed. THanks for any advise, Monica

Rotors are made from scrap, many imported from China, the cast iron, if you can call it that, is often full of inclusions (unknown material), your “hot spots” reflect the junk from which they were made… At least, with factory rotors, there is SOME quality control…With aftermarket brake parts, it’s a crap shoot… Some are serviceable, some are worse than the old rotors you threw away…

Some rotors are poorly made and likely that is what caused the problem. I seems most of them come from China. I make sure my rotors do not come from China. Maybe in 30 years China will have their act together and will get the junk out.

40 years ago Japan had the same problems. They addressed the issue and today they produce some of the best cameras available. Cameras were one of their first efforts.