Am I crazy?

My first Grandson will be born in North Carolina in July, my wife and I will be driving out to spend time with the little guy. I want to drive my daily driver that I use about 70 miles every day, Everyone says I’m nuts and will never make it.

It is a 1963 Valiant convertible with >400K mile slant six and three speed on the column. It has not been restored or rebuilt, but I have upgraded to disk brakes on the front and put some nifty racing stripes on it with a spray can! I have been driving this car every day for 5 or 6 years and it NEVER fails to start, run and drive just fine, it doesnt burn oil, but it will leak it!

Am I crazy to think if the car works every day anyway that it can make the trip?

I forgot to mention I will be driving from San Diego Ca.

Rachel would not think twice about taking a cross country trip in her car:

http://growingbolder.com/media/technology/vehicles/romancing-the-road-259598.html#content_tabs

Edit: I would not fill the trunk with spare parts for the road trip – leave them with a friend just in case. If you break down on the road they can Fed Ex only what you need to the repair shop over night.

Twotone

I’ve done crazier things than that. Have the car checked out by a mechanic before you make the trip. Make sure the brakes and suspension check out fine, along with belts, hoses, etc. If everything checks out okay, I wouldn’t hesitate to make the trip. Be sure to carry a set of points and ballast resistor, and know how to change and set them, or an extra orange box if you have electronic ignition. I have driven worse junk cross country than a '63 Valiant. You can’t get much more reliable than a slant six.

Awesome for Rachel! I cant wait to show that clip to my wife. I may be crazy, but I’m no crazier than Rachel!

Forget About The Jokers Who Ask, “Hey, Where’s The Other Half Of Your Engine ?” I’ve Seen Many Slant-Six Powerplants Come In First Place In Demolition Derbys, Many With No Working Cooling Systems !