Advice for Buying a Car

I am a sophomore in college at Michigan State and I am looking into getting my first car. I was wondering if anyone has any suggestions or advice. My dad usually helps me with this stuff, but he is really busy at work so I figured I would try this out. I absolutely love Jeeps, but I’m wondering if I should stick to something smaller. Do you have any suggestions on American made cars that aren’t large, but not tiny either? I am definitely looking at used cars, since I will be paying for it. Where are some good places to look for used cars at? I have mostly been using craig’s list. I want to be able to use this car for at least a couple of years, so is there a good way to figure out how many miles on the car is too many?

What is your budget? Do you need/want all wheel drive (AWD)? Have you bought the Consumer Reports car buyer’s guide?

If you find a car that you like, the most important thing to do is to take is to a good mechanic for a pre-purchase inspection. There are no guarantees, but there’s a much lower chance that you’ll be stuck with a car with hidden expensive problems, so it’s money well spent.

Jeeps are not particularly reliable. Does that matter to you? What factors do matter to you?

How much driving do you need to do in snow?

Do look at the Consumer Reports ratings, as mentioned above.

Proper maintenance is very important in how reliable a used car will be, so any car that comes with maintenance records is worth a closer look.

Please explain what you mean by “American-made” and why you want that. That’s a very fuzzy term. Do you want the company headquarters to be in the U.S.? Do you want the workers assembling it to be in the U.S.? Do you want a high percentage of the parts to be sourced in the U.S.? Maybe you don’t understand how the auto manufacturing business works these days, but it’s not like the old days.