AC compressor Toyota RAV4

I have a 1996 4 door AWD Rav4 with 177,00 miles and a loud AC compressor whine.I have to replace it. Apparently there is no pulley bypass to run the alternator, no rebuilts available, and used are nearly the same price.

I’ve replaced the gaskets (still burning a quart of oil every 1500 miles), water pump, timing belt, one CV boot, and exhaust pipe within the past couple of years.

So at $759 to do the job, I wonder at what point do I give up on this vehicle? As an artist, my income is nil, but I need something to get me safely through VT snowdrifts.

What do you recommend?

An off the wall idea…As an ex-Vermonter I rarely used AC and now the weather is cooler …could you put on a smaller belt and forget about AC???

Maybe you can take a long string and put it around pulleys bypassing commpressor to find out what length belt you need.

thanks- I never use AC either, but somehow it is connected to the alternator too-- that is why it has to be replaced. It is not a belt, but a bearing inside the AC compressor.
Having to spend all this dough for AC that I never use is galling, to say the least.

“I never use AC either, but somehow it is connected to the alternator”

Yes, it is “connected” to the alternator by the serpentine belt. Or, to be more accurate, the compressor is not connected to the alternator by the belt, but both components are driven by the same belt.

You are apparently not understanding the suggestion from hd72mm. He is aware that the problem is in the compressor, rather than the belt. He is suggesting that a shorter belt (one that bypasses the compressor) may work in this situation.

If you take the vehicle to a good independent mechanic, you can simply ask:
“Can you install a shorter serpentine belt that bypasses my defective A/C compressor?”

Any decent mechanic will understand the question and if this is possible (maybe or maybe not, given the design of the vehicle), he should be able to give you this low-cost remedy.