'98 Ford Windstar Electrical Problem after Frost Plug Replacement?

I had a frost plug replaced in my 1998 Ford Windstar last Wednesday afternoon. It was the frost plugs between the engine and the transmission thus they had to take out the transmission to replace them (2). Thursday as I was driving my radio stopped working, then the ABS and airbag lights came on and the car started beeping and simultaneously the car started to run roughly and have almost no power, then it completely died. The windows wouldn’t even go up and it wouldn’t turn over (it would not even click). I called the repair shop who said, “It’s nothing we did!” and told me it sounded like it needed a battery. I had my friend put a battery in it. After that it did exactly the same thing last night and I was stuck in the middle of an intersection last night at 9p and had to have it towed. What in the heck happened to my van??? I have never had a problem with it prior. I am a veterinarian, not a mechanic. Help me please!

I suspect that when they hoocked the transmission cable back up, the neutral safety switch is now out of adjustment causing all these glitches.

Picture of the switch

My father said the same thing! Do you think I should go back to the original repair shop who replaced the frost plugs or run from that repair shop? When I talked to the mechanic on the phone Thursday night he said it was ‘nothing I did’ and recommended the battery.

Some more info would help. Is everything electrically dead?
With the key on, are the dashboard lights on (alt. oil, CEL, etc.)
What about lighting, cabin fan, wipers, etc.?
Does the starter make a solenoid “click” sound when the key is turned?

Just one little thing. It won’t waste the entire day. Look for a hanging ground wire from engine or transmission to the frame or body. These things get left unconnected often. Usually the problems aren’t so severe.