98 Acura RL 175K miles needs transmission need suggestions

I am submitting this question because I am in need of help. My 98 Acura RL with 175k miles requires a new transmission/ used/ rebuilt whatever, I am a college student with limited to no money and have little to no knowledge of the maintainence history of this vehicle prior to my purchasing. My concern is the motor, fixing the transmission is not the problem I am just worried that if I fix the transmission - the timing belt will go, or the head gaskets with fail, along with other very significant costly repairs. Does anyone out there have any knowledge of the reliability of these essentially fancy hondas?! Should I invest in this car the 3000 required to fix the transmission when its supposedly worth 5000 running perfectly?! please help

Without knowing the maintenance history I’d be reluctant to invest much money in this car. If you don’t know when the timing belt was replaced last it is safe to assume it needs one NOW.

The RL is a reliable car, but repair costs can be high.

I wouldn’t pay $5,000 for a car with 175K miles, no matter who made it.

I would get an estimate to make sure that other crucial items are up to date including brakes, exhaust, timing belt, and tires and then assess. ANY car over 150k/8 years you are more likely than not to incur expensive maintenance and repair on any vehicle even golden Honda(Acura) or Toyota(lexus).