96 ranger steering

i have a friend who has a 96 ranger 2wd. it has been diagnosed needing a new pitman arm.

also it is said it will need a new alignment.

is an alignment necessary (it just had one last month after an inner tie rod went.)

i thought the pitman arm was not involved in the alignment, but in the steering box to rack assy?

any constructive thoughts?

I would do the alignment, just because. It never hurts to do a wheel alignment. Odds are this truck needs one.

I’ve been driving Rangers as company vehicles for many years, and almost every single one has been a front tire eater.

Alignment is cheap. Tires are expensive.

I can’t see why your friends truck should require a new pitman arm. The pitman arm has no wearable components. Do you mean the idler arm?

Tester

he wrote it down as the guy was telling him what it needed.

pitman arm was what was mentioned.

the only thing i could think of was possible a mangled change out of the steering box, which may have torn up the splines on the shaft. i just was trying to save him the alignment charge if the only thing replaced was the pitman arm.

since it had an alignment four weeks ago, that part seems redundant to me.

You can get away without the alignment. The difference in your toe-in will be very slight and probably not measurable.

The pitman arm is a none-wear item. From the pictures I have there are no joints to wear out.

Even if it needs to be replaced you DO NOT need to have it realigned, replacing it will not affect the toe-in setting. The only reason to have the alignment checked would be if the steering wheel was off center after it was replaced.

A pitman arm does indeed have a joint that wears out. However, replacing it won’t affect the alignment as long as nothing else is removed for some reason.

http://www.autozone.com/az/cds/en_us/0900823d/80/0b/cb/06/0900823d800bcb06/repairInfoPages.htm

I don’t see a wearable joint on the pitman arm.

Tester