'93 Subaru Power Steering Died and Battery light is on

Hi all… My old and often very reliable '93 Subaru’s power steering died the other day. I was driving and my engine suddenly started making a deep ticking sound. I pulled over and with it running, popped the hood. The sound was coming from the front of the engine near the visible belts. I decided to keep driving. After about 10 miles that’s when the power steering died. Then my battery light and break light came on (which in the past has usually indicated that something is up with the battery or something is drawing from the battery more than it should). THEN I began to smell burnt rubber.

What I want to know is this: my boyfriend says that it’s probably the surpentine (sp?) belt or the pump thingy that runs the steering. First, I want to know if I can drive it to the shop or if that is a dangerous thing to do. The steering is really hard but I can still make it work. I’m a grad student and I don’t have the money to get a tow, but will will find the money if I have to. Second, is my boyfriend right and will it cost a lot? Again, poor grad student. :o)

Any input would be GREATLY appreciated!

The serpentine belt came apart. It maybe fairly easy to repair but I am not familiar with this car. Some are easier than others.

If this belt runs the water pump, then you cannot drive it to the shop. The engine will overheat and you will blow your head gaskets, and that will get very expensive.

If the water pump is driven by the timing belt or a different drive belt, then you can. Your mention of “visible belts” indicates more than one belt, which means that you might not have a serpentine belt. Usually when a vehicle uses a serpentine belt, it is the only drive belt, but not always.