88 Ford Van

Hello to all , this is my first time, of course I am having problems with my 88 ford half ton custom van with a 5.0 engine. Problems being the key word, I'm not sure if it is one thing causing the problem.  I've had the van for about a year and a half ,  so I kind of like it.  Being old but not badly maintained it is still a decent ride, in other words I expect it needs money thrown at it, just where and how much is the question. 
 My worst problem is that it is not idling properly . This just started recently , It was running hot on the temp gauge and leaking water so I replaced the thermostat (Quite the pain till I learned the trick) and replaced most of the leaking hoses. I dont think this caused the problem, I also replaced the rotor and cap , the cap was pretty wasted, and fairly old like the spark plugs , I'd replaced a few months back. 
 I'm not sure if my problem is electrical or vacuum , it does have duel gas tanks and a bunch of things to go wrong there. On the highway it seems to run ok but at a stop it starts idling erratically and then dies. It starts right back up, but I smell like a bad gas smell. My check engine light comes on if I'm driving slow but goes off at about 30 .    Another clue is that it idles worse, higher when I run the heater. It almost runs ok with the heater off, perfect for winter driving.    
 I'm basically looking for things to try next. Or first would be best. I've thought of getting the things that could be causing the problem at a junk yard and replacing them until I notice a difference.    I know of the IAC and the ERG maybe , also read of a temp sensor on the throttle body?   It needs some other things like a power brake booster that leaks air.   I'm not very technical but willing to do the homework. Any thoughts will help and thanks for letting me post here.