83 firebird rebuild-- yay or nay?

hi all,
I’m new to the whole rebuilding/car maintenance world, but I did take some automotive classes in high school so I have a pretty good idea what I’m pretty competent with cars and tools. I was searching craigslist when I found this: http://tampa.craigslist.org/hil/cto/4487270508.html It’s an 83 firebird that was completely disassembled by the previous owner, however all the parts were sorted, organized, and kept indoors. It looks like a pretty good deal, especially if I can haggle an even lower price, but I am hesitant to move because I don’t know if I can handle the rebuild. I have plenty of time to work on it, and I don’t believe losing interest will be a problem, but I was wondering if anyone could shed light on how difficult it will be to do a complete rebuild.
Thanks,
Sam

If you are competent with hand tools and have a good grasp of mechanical things…it should be a fairly easy project. The only bad news is that any rebuild always cost more time and money than you think it will. Been there…done that. Look at it this way…even if you fail…it will be a great learning experience. My dad always said you can’t learn to swim until you first get wet. Good luck.

That’s what’s called a “basket case” @sam-i. And such a basket case would be a nightmare for anyone other than experienced professionals. I would guess that sooner or later the parts will be sold individually.

Basket case? Not really…I would call it a rolling chassis…But that’s a long, long ways from a drivable automobile…And if ANY of the little bits and pieces are missing or broken, replacing them will be expensive and difficult…The instrument cluster, all the behind the dash stuff, the clutch linkage and steering…Brakes and brake lines, fuel tank and fuel lines, it goes on and on…And you still need an engine and everything connected to it…