53 Pontiac vs 53 Chevy

I need some replacement parts for a 53 Pontiac I just bought. I’m very new at the restoration game and was wondering if anyone knows which parts on a 53 Chevy might also fit the Pontiac? Right now I’m looking at fenders, but know there will be more!

If you haven’t looked into it yet, Hemmings Motor News is a great publication for finding most any part you will need for your car. I have used them for my 1949 Cadillac and others I know have used them for much more obscure cars. Check out www.hemmings.com.

Pontiac and Chevrolet in 1953 both used the GM A-body. In looking at the pictures I have, the fenders look as though they have the same shape, but with different trim. The Pontiac was on a longer wheelbase, so the extra length may have been in the front fenders. My guess would be that these parts wouldn’t interchange very easily. Salvage yards used to have books on parts interchangeability, so an old salvage yard worker or an old body shop technician might know whether you could use the Chevrolet front fender on the Pontiac.

On the other hand, the Pontiacs made and sold in Canada were essentially Chevrolets. I remember seeing a 1954 Canadian Pontiac and I thought someone had built one car out of two wrecks. The rear end was a Chevrolet, but the trim and grille was that of a Pontiac. The chassis of the Canadian Pontiac was a Chevrolet chassis. In 1963, I had a fellow graduate student from Canada that had a 1963 Pontiac made in Canada. It had the Chevrolet 283 engine and Powerglide transmission. There is more likelihood that the Chevrolet and Canadian Pontiac parts will interchange.

Oldog,
While no doubt there are some on here that know and perhaps have even restored vehicles, the people on this site I’m going to give you do it all the time. It also has sections for parts, etc.
http://www.chevytalk.org/fusionbb