2019 Nissan Rogue - Slow to warm

Thanks for all your wisdom Ray. Question: My 2019 Nissan Rogue is very slow to warm up. Texas is mostly hot but can be as cold as Alaska in winter. I have to drive the Rogue for about 15 minutes at highway speeds before the heater blows hot air. The dealer says that 4 cylinder engines need more time to warm up. Is this because they burn less fuel? In contrast my 25 year old 6 cylinder Maxima warms up in about 5 minutes. Maybe if I give our politicians a ride to work we would get hot air right away! Thanks.

Some vehicles are faster to warm up than others, period.
My turbo 4 heats faster than the V6 I had, the V6 heated faster than my V8 truck.
Something that helps, leave the HVAC off until temperature gauge begins to enter the normal range.

1 Like

I am not a mechanic but a few things come to mind. Your thermostat might be stuck open. You could have air in the heater core. The temperature sensor that controls the fan could be bad, making the fan run constantly, or some related relay could be stuck. You can test for that last one by starting the engine cold and opening the hood without the ac or defroster on. The fan shouldn’t be running at that point, if it is you have a target, if not you’ve eliminated one possibility.

1 Like

How long does it take for the temperature gauge in the dash to get into the normal range (about 40% from cold to hot if no numbers, 180 if the gauge has numbers).

This vehicle should be giving you a check engine light. Based on outside temperature, the computer allows a calculated time for the engine to come up to proper running temperature, if it doesn’t, it sets the check engine light.