2018 Nissan Sentra - Unintended acceleration

my car just took off and didn’t stop until I hit something. happened twice. I don’t know if it was me or not. I am a careful driver, first two accidents in 33 years.

Get out your flashlight & inspect the accelerator pedal area. See any mats, carpets that might be bunching up and obstructing free pedal movement? Try removing everything carpet/mat related in that area, might help. Check for a soda can, etc, that might have rolled under seat as well.

A Nissan dealership might have some gadget they can plug into your car which monitors the throttle valve position. If it happens again they might be able to determine the cause. No harm to ask.

Another idea. Is there something unusual occurring in your life that may be distracting you? I had something like that happen to me many years ago, after some close calls during driving, found I had to be extra careful when driving during that period to avoid accidents.

5 Likes

Soooooo many questions about this…

1st of all if your vehicle is taking off on it’s on with no input from you (according to your header) then for YOUR safety and EVERYONES around you, it needs to be towed to the nearest Nissan Dealer for a diagnostic… Sorry, not being mean but if you are not capable of knowing if you wrecked your vehicle or not (your words) then you probable aren’t qualified to diagnose your vehicle… Again, please no disrespect but that could be a life or death crash… Safety 1st…
( If I need to edit that just let me know and I will)

Now, maybe if you would explain what exactly happened in detail then it might not be as bad as it sounds… Like you stated Unintended Acceleration… What does that mean??? To me it sound like you were not in the vehicle and it took off with out any input from you… And you said it did it two times… Was it on different days or different hour or after hitting something it took off again???