2016 Hyundai Elantra - bad blind spot

Blind spot on passenger side. I am having the same experience. I have been driving for 50 years.I have had my 3rd scrape (contact with another vehicle) due to not seeing a car on the right side behind, while changing lanes. I have also had several honkings for near misses.
I ALWAYS turn and look first, then use mirrors for backup. There is something wrong with this car.

my daughter had that vehicle. I drove it on many occasions and never had that problem. you might not have your mirrors adjusted properly. set to far in. no offence but maybe you should get one of those back-up beepers like big trucks have for backing up. do you use the turning assit in the mirrors that light up and beep when there is a car to close to you? it might be turned off. same with the back-up warning. check that it is turned on.

How To Adjust Your Car Mirrors To Eliminate Blind Spots SAE - YouTube

3 Likes

I find that to be many peoples problem especially when backing up it seems most people donā€™t know how to adjust there mirrors properly.

2 Likes

That is not the cars fault . Put some bind spot mirrors on your outside mirrors . They are just little round mirrors that any parts store will have and I also agree you do not have your mirrors set correctly.

2 Likes

I added several ā€˜little round mirrorsā€™. Put one outside and one on the interior rear view mirror over a year ago. STILL have the problem.

Then you still do not have them adjusted right check out the link weekend-warrior posted the only real blind spot you should have is the space directly behind you that you can not see without a back up camera.

1 Like

Poor visibility is an epidemic in modern cars. Some are better, like the Forester. All you can do is follow the suggestions above, or buy a different car.

2 Likes

Many cars have blind spots and that has been true for many, many decades. Ever drive a 1971 Mach One or a mid 60s Corvette Roadster?