2013 Chevrolet Suburban - Squeaks

I have a ridiculously embarassing squel coming from my tires when i drive. It started off faint and now, not so much. Since i have to go up a parking garage, it’s agony. the sound use to subside when i pressed on the brakes but now it gives much less of a mute. Do i need new brakes, rotors? just some grease? please tell me it’s only a $10 fix and not hundreds. Looking forward to some good news. Thanks.

There is hardly anything that can be repaired for 10.00 . And without seeing this in person I certainly would not say what part or parts are bad. A guess - your brake pads are worn to the point that you have metal on metal and that is dangerous.

1 Like

Not unusual for tires to squeal in parking garages, even driving slow. I have never really paid any attention to it but suspect the concrete is sealed, thus producing the noise.
If it were brakes or any other thing you would likely hear it on other surfaces.

I don’t think the squeal is caused by the parking garage surface but is just more noticeable there . The person said the noise would lessen when applying the brakes before but not now.
Maybe they will return with more info .

Could be, plus garages echo the sound.

It is a Constant squeal when driving. It only stops When I press on the brakes or make a complete stop

I guess you can’t fix this yourself so why are you not having a shop look at it before something breaks at the worst possible time.

I have extended warranty but the deductible is $200 which is fine as long as the issue is covered, but maintenance isn’t covered and brakes are considered maintenance.

The dealership and other local shops charge between $100- $160 just for a diagnosis.

If i knew more less what it could be, like i need to fix the rotors then i can just go and get that done.

The sound is constant while driving. It has increased in volume in the past week.

The only time the high pitched squealing stops is when the vehicle comes to a complete stop.