2012 Chevy Malibu slipping transmission

I think the transmission on my car is slipping. When I left work yesterday it would not accelerate past ~20mph and the RPM needle would go up past 3. I pulled over when I could, turned it off, and turned it on a few minutes later, and the car was driving normally again! This morning I was able to drive to work normally with no issue.

I am new to my area and looking for a local mechanic but wanted to ask for advice here.

My car is a 2012 chevy malibu, I bought it used in 2015 and have ~60,000miles on it. Regular oil changes etc every year. I mostly drive it around town and I drive out of state (several states, midwest) a couple of times a year.

I’d have to check paperwork to see if transmission fluid was changed, I’m pretty sure it hasn’t, and I know 60,000 miles is pushing it.

Could that be the issue or is it worse? I initially thought it was a torque converter but someone else told me they thought it was electrical because it worked fine when I turned it on again.

What would be the line between doing a repair and just trading it in for a new(er) car? Am I going to have to replace the entire transmission or could it be the fluid or a seal or something?

Was there a yellow light - the check engine light - on the dash showing? Was it flashing?

If either were there, it may not be a transmission problem but your mechanic should check the car for stored error codes. That should direct them to start to understand the problem.

4 Likes

Go and get it checked out by a mechanic before jumping onto the “need to trade in the car” bandwagon. That way you’re dealing with facts, rather than assumptions.

More than likely, it probably needs a transmission fluid change.

See where things go from there.

1 Like

That sounds like a classic description of the car going into Limp Home Mode in order to protect the engine and/or transmission from further damage. Take a look at this:

+1