2010 Nissan Altima left running

I see No Place to write in my question. This is my first time.
My question: I accidentally left my car in Park and running for 4 hours. Did I damage my 2010 Nissan Altima?

Hi rocilladilger:
Nothing to worry about. You did no damage at all.

4 Likes

+1
The wife of a colleague of mine once left her car running for the entire night before discovering that she had failed to shut off the ignition. Aside from wasting a lot of gas, no damage was done, and engine had no problems whatsoever for the ensuing 3 years that they owned the car.

All of that being said, more people do damage to their engines by failing to regularly check the level of oil on the dipstick, and many of these same people do damage to their tires by failing to check (and correct) the inflation pressure on a regular basis. Do you do both of those things? If not, then you have much greater potential to do harm to your car by things other than allowing the engine to run at idle speed for 4 hours.

+2
…
Any modern car in good operating condition can idel 'til the tank runs dry without damage… up until that point where the tank actually runs dry.

In the old days of carbureted engines, the engines idled “rich”, with a lot of unburned and poorly burned fuel. This left a lot of carbon in the cylinders and the excess fuel could even bypass the rings and dilute the oil. Leaving an engine idling for hours could result in carbon buildup and even diluted oil. But modern engines idle very lean, very clean, and don’t leave these deposits, and these are no longer concerns.

In short, fears of long term idling are a hangover from the days of carbureted engines. The reasons no longer apply.

Modern cars are also very quiet at idle so I see how this could happen, although it would be difficult to duplicate with my 2010 Kia. When I opened the door the key in ignition chime would start “dinging” and it also would not allow me to lock the door with key in ignition.