2009 Dodge Challenger - Dead batteries

A month ago I got the 3rd battery in 2 years. It keeps dying. My mechanic says the alternator is fine. He’s stumped. The dealer did a diagnostic test and found nothing. They cleaned and tightened all the electrical connections. It started fine for several days, but was dead this morning. It is hit-and-miss … will start after 3 days but then not start after just one. I live 1.3 miles from work and rarely drive it any other time. I’ve had it 6 years, but this problem is only 2 years old.

I’m not a mechanic, but I see an alternator in your future. 11 years old now. Maybe time to trade?

I live 1.3 miles from work and rarely drive it any other time.

There is a big part of your problem you need to take it out on the highway open it up and go at least 20 to 30 miles once a week or as we used to say blow the cobb’s out.

4 Likes

I suspect you are not driving enough to recharge the battery with that short drive to work.

3 Likes

Alternator has been checked by my mechanic and the dealership. It only has 49k miles.

I considered this, but it didn’t happen for 4 years. Was occasional at first. Now it’s almost weekly.

Like I said you need to take it on a highway run to give the battery a good deep charge and it will help in other areas as well like burning the moisture out of the exhaust system the oil transmission and brake fluid and getting everything warmed up good. I am really suprised that after four year’s this is the only problem you have had.

I am retired and everything I need is within a few mile’s of my house but I still get out for a good run whenever possible.

It didn’t happen for 4 years. Has 49k miles. Got a new battery 2 years ago. A month ago got a 3rd one.

It sounds like there may be a problem with the TIPM.

Tester

It’s been a good car. I’ll heed your advice and see what happens. Thanks.

1 Like

Please let us know how it works out.