2007 Honda Accord Manual Transmission

My clutch peddle made a slight “snap” sound last night and now it is very difficult to get the car to engage in a gear while sitting still, while moving it does ok, but not nearly as smooth as it should be. The other odd occurrence is that while the motor is running and the car is not moving, you can’t shift any gears at all, but as soon as you cut the motor, all 5 gears and reverse are easily accessible. Why the sound at the peddle and the trouble in the gear shift mechanism? I am only an advanced beginner with car repair, but I think think this is really bad… Any help, thoughts, or suggestions?

It seems your clutch isn’t working now. Either the master or slave cylinder has “popped” and isn’t holding pressure to move the clutch when you move the petal. Not a disaster, but you’ll have to get it fixed. I’d suggest towing the car to a shop for an evaluation and estimate.

Have you checked the fluid? Maybe your fluid needs replacing, although that wouldn’t explain the ‘snap’ you heard…
Does the clutch behave normally while driving? (ie no grabbing, etc)

That ‘snap’ could have been a clutch spring, maybe. I’ve seen those suckers pop out but usually you won’t be able to disengage the clutch.

Is this a hydraulic clutch or a cable clutch???

That didn’t occur to me, as I assumed most if not all newer cars are hydraulic, no?
Some are still cabled?