2006 Toyota corolla Timing cover leak and other questions

Hi Car Talk Community,

I went in today for a factor recall on my 2006 Toyota Corolla and when I was leaving I was told that my car needs to have the timing cover resealed (the quote was $835.98). Additionally, the Drive belt is cracked and it was recommended to me to get a new belt for a price of $202.65.
My air filter is dirty ($49.95), I need manual transmission service ($59.95), Fuel injection service ($99.95), Fuel induction service ($115.95) and an AC refresh for $79.95.

Being a college student I wanted to get some feedback on some of the stuff I could do myself. I already change my own motor oil and oil filter and anything I could do myself from the above recommendations from Toyota would really help lower the cost.

Also I am not really sure about the timing cover reseal because I have not seen any leaks under my car. It may be that I do not understand what a timing cover leak is. And is this something that I should get fixed right away or can i afford to wait for a while (1 year or longer).

Also what is the difference between a fuel induction service and fuel injection service? Can i do it myself?

At any rate any advice anyone can give me is greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Just my 2 cts, but it sounds like you’re targeted to help this dealer make his profit target for the month. I cannot say if you need a timing cover reseal or not, but that is a steep price for such work. And, I generally don’t see them begin to leak at less the 10-years old. It typically starts at the front crank seal. You should be able to see wet drops at the front of the timing cover/oil pan when they need to be replaced. If you don’t see oil drops, I’d skip it.