2006 Hyundai Sonata rusted brake lines

Brake lines rusted out under plastic cover with 148000 miles. All car companies should be required to use nickle lines. Safety issue in my opinion

the car is 12 years old with 148,000 miles…stuff wears out over time. I doubt nickle would be strong enough, they use steel for a reason!!

1 Like

The trick with steel lines is to get them coated with rustproofing oil every 3-4 years. They usually spray inside the plastic cover with a special nozzle until the stuff start to drip. NiCop brake lines would be my choice if I had to route a line with a lot of bend in it. They also cost a lot more than steel but they don’t rust.

Ehh, I think that would be a waste of money. I’m a professional mechanic, I have been in this business for 30 years, and I can count on one hand the number of rusted brake lines I have had to replace.

True, brake lines may rust out more in other parts of the country, but so does the rest of the car. I think it’s just part of the cost of living in a rust area.

2 Likes

Move to the rust belt…you will make a lot of money changing brakes and fuel lines.

I agree, they should be rustproof. This is like mufflers of decades ago, which had to be changed every 20-40k miles due to rust. Now they last well over 100k. The incremental cost to change the brake lines to stainless steel would be minor.

And a rusted out muffler is not catastrophic, whereas a rusted brake line is.

Although I admit I have not had any problem with rusted brake lines and I do live in a rust area.

I can not even total up how many brake and fuel lines I have replaced and I only work on family or occasionally a friends car. Before fuel injection, you could replace shprt rusted out sections of fuel line with neoprene ones and hose clamps.