2005 RAV4 clutch

I drive a standard shift 2005 RAV4, all-wheel drive. Until Friday, I have really enjoyed driving this car. However, my clutch bit the dust, and the car had to be flat-bedded into the dealershp for an expensive clutch replacement. I have been driving standard shift cars for three decades and have only had to replace one clutch at over 120,000 miles. I was taught to drive standard by someone who drilled me on good clutch use, and I consider myself very careful with the clutch, so the clutch wearing out at 48,000 miles really shocked me.

This is my question: have I suddenly lost my ability to drive a standard shift car without destroying the clutch, or is there something that I am doing wrong? Is there something special about the clutch on an all-wheel drive car that no one told me to be careful of? Should I count on replacing the clutch every 48,000 miles?

It’s unusual for a clutch to fail without warning. Usually when a clutch nears the end of its life it starts to slip and you have some time to get it fixed.

This is not normal clutch life for a Honda, and I don’t think you are the cause of this.

What, exactly happened that made the vehicle undriveable?

Thanks for answering, but the RAV4 is a Toyota.
The clutch failure was pretty sudden. On Wednesday, I noticed that I was having trouble getting up to speed, but once I hit highway speed, everything seemed fine. I made a mental note to call the Toyota dealership on Friday to make an appt. On Thursday, I was taking a brief trip to the grocery when I smelled a strong burning odor, followed immediately by the car’s inability to go over 20 mph. Luckily, I was a mile from home when this happened. I got it home and called the dealership immediately. They sent a flatbed.

Sorry. CRV, RAV, after a while they all sound the same.