2005 Honda Cr-V stuck rotor

I’m working on changing my pads and rotors on my Honda CR-V. This is my first time, and it has been a rough go so far. Earlier today I had it on the car’s scissor jack and it wasn’t stable enough. It started moving backwards and the jack bent, dropping the car on the rotor (wheel was off at this point). I went and bought a better jack and some jack stands, so that is taken care of.

My current problem. I can’t get the rotor off. It isn’t seized anymore. It was but I’ve knocked it loose. However, it won’t move past a few mm of the hub. Is it possible that I bent something when it fell off the jack before? If so, any suggestions for getting this thing off?

I’m going to post a video in a minute of the way the rotor currently moves.

I’ve tried screwing bolts through the holes in the rotor to get it off (it is designed for this), but that stripped the threads in the holes.

In a few moments a video showing the rotor movement will be online here on Youtube.

First off, it is good you’re using good jack stands now. Safety experts here say to never work under any part of a car that is only supported by a jack. And especially if it is just the flimsy jack that came with the car. I presume you now have a floor jack.

When I’m doing something like that where I’ll be banging on the rotor to get it to yield, I’ll use jack stands and put a couple of 6 x 6 beams under the car too, in case the jack stands fail. I’ll also put the tire under the rocker arms.

It seems like when I’ve removed rotors I had to first remove the brake caliper. I recall I unbolted and hung it from something nearby with bailing wire, so it didn’t have to hang from the rubber brake hose attached to the caliper.