2005 GMC Yukon - Low oil pressure

I have low oil pressure at idle due to a slipping cam (crankshaft not cam shaft) shaft bearing. I verified this by dropping the oil pan and seeing the displaced bearing. It is over half way out of position and I can easily see the hole on the bottom of the bearing that allows the oil to pass through. The bearing does not appear scared or damaged otherwise. The car seems to run fine other than the fluctuating oil pressure. At idle it drops to zero and the alarms go off. I have several questions. How long can I drive before the car dies because of the bearing or other damage caused by the oil pressure? Can I alleviate the low oil pressure by increasing the idle or by installing a high volume oil pump?
Thanks for any help!

!

I am not a mechanic. I would think you could not see the affect of on either the cam shaft or the internal portion of the bearing. If you plan to keep your vehicle have the bearing replaced correctly.

This is the first case of a slipped cam bearing on a small block Chevy I’ve heard of. I’m also not a mechanic, but I wonder if the engine is so worn it enabled the bearing to slip, but the low oil pressure is from all the bearing being worn out. How many miles? How much oil do you use (miles per quart)? How long have you owned it?

That’s a crankshaft bearing.

If you’re lucky, you might make it to the junkyard.

Tester

5 Likes

Yeah, that sounds more likely, but I sure would like to see a photo of this - I’m having trouble imagining there’s enough clearance for any of the bearings to come out that far.

I too was wondering how he could see the camshaft bearing, but I have never looked up into an engine. My only experience was replacing a hydraulic lifter on a 361 Chrysler.

Even my Crystal Ball can’t answer that .

The lifter bores can be seen in that picture. If the camshaft were in that engine you would be able to see it and not the lifter bores.