2004 Corolla Engine, to replace or not replace

I need some advice as to how to proceed with my 2004 Toyota Corolla. It has approximatle 350,000 mile on it (odometer failed at 299,999). I noticed an extreme loss of power. I couldn’t reach 60 MPH on the interstate going up hill. I changed plugs and tested fuel pressure (48 psi, within spec). Tested after and had even less power. I had to limp home at 25 MPH. I noticed that the car is running a lot hotter than it used to run. I did a compression test (Dry: 1-122.5 psi, 2-140 psi, 3-135 psi, 4-135 psi Wet: 1-245 psi, 2-210 psi, 3-210 psi, 4-210 psi),

Now comes the crux of my question. Is the engine shot? Should I replace both engine (cheapest I can find online is $1,300) and transmission (cheapest $400)? I would be attempting to do the work on my own. I have some experience working on cars; oil changes, replacing radiators, starters, and spark plugs. Is this going to be too big of a job for a home gamer/weekend warrior? Any advice is greatly appreciated.

Yes this is a big job plus you will have to pay to dispose of the old engine and transmission. That 1300.00 engine on line must be used and might not last very long.

Sorry , but this thing has reached the end of it’s life span . Replacement vehicle time.

4 Likes

After 16 years and ~350,000 miles, I’d put that money towards a new car. Too many things with that much mileage and time could be getting ready to go

4 Likes

I’m not liking the way this is heading…

I was hoping to hear that it would be a pretty easy engine swap.

@ VOLVO-V70-it is a used engine from a salvage yard with 86K on it.

And you have no idea if this engine is in any better shape than your own. It’s a 16 year old econobox, just junk it.

5 Likes

You never said whether the check engine light was on… Nor did you check for an exhaust restriction… the latter is important if swapping engine.

But those compression readings are pretty bad…