2003 honda V6

I have a problem with vibration in steering wheel and
at speeds of 50 to 60 mph. It also vibrates at idle. This problem did not start until we had new brakes and rotors turn. We also have had tires rotated and balance. They told us we needed new motor mounts. We had them replace and the shake got worse. They replaced the front axles and the transmission mount. I also bought two new tires.

This started out when we took our car to have the tires rotated and balance. The Mechanic told us we needed new brakes, so we took it to get this done. we are now having all kinds of problems as I stated above. Took it to the Honda place here and one person told us it was not worth fixing. I do not believe this. The car has a little over a 115,000 miles on it. I have been driving a Honda since 1992. This car we bought new and I know it has been service… One person at the Honda place here said he could replace all the mounts and would not promise it would fix it. We have even had one of the new tires replace because they said it was bad. I have been to 3 different places and I am having more problems now and a few hundred dollars less. Do you have any suggestion?. We are retired and our cash flow is limited. This has been going on since Jan. To have all this done and have a problem we did not have before all this done is very upsetting. Who do you believe anymore?

There could well be two different problems with your car.

If the car is shaking at idle, the problem could be as simple as a vacuum hose that was accidently disconnected or damaged when the motor mounts were replaced.

The shake that you feel at 50-60 mph could be from any of the following:

Tires that need to be rebalanced, preferably with one of the Hunter 9700 machines that does “Road Force Balancing”
Worn components in the front end, including ball joints and tie rod ends
Defective axles (it is not unheard-of for replacement axles to have defective inner CV joints)