2003 Honda Accord, AC Fan no-blow

Alabama + July + No AC = Hell.

Our accords air stopped getting cold about 4 months ago, early Spring.

It was no big deal because the weather was nice back then.

Then, less than a month later, the air started working again! And I didn’t even have to get my hands dirty.

Assuming I had a self-healing car, I never gave it another thought.

Enter SUMMER.

The AC has worked perfectly since the self-healing, but today, the fan will not blow at all.

Now, I am no mechanic but I have done some minor repairs on a car before (Changing a thermostat, flushing a radiator, cleaning out a throtle body, etc) so if the fan is bad on my accord, I am assuming it is easy enough for a novice like me to do…

Or am I wrong?

Why are you assuming the blower motor is bad? Does it work on any speed, or not at all?

Have you checked the fuse for the blower?

Turn the ignition to the run position so the dash lights come on. Set the fan speed on high. Under the passenger side of the dash, tap on the blower motor with the handle of a screwdriver. If the blower starts working, the bushings in the blower motor are worn, and the blower motor requires replacing.

Tester

I am assuming because that’s what I do :slight_smile: Having little knowledge in this area…

Would this fuse be in the cab or under the hood?

Does this fuse only control the blower fan or any other items in the car?

I doubt the blower motor is bad though it is possible you may have to replace it. I would suspect a couple of other things before a bad motor. First is the fuse and second is the blower relay. They are both located in the panel under the hood. Fuse 21 is a 40A fuse. Make sure power is getting through those areas. Using a test light probe to test with will show you what is going on.

If those things are ok then there may be a problem with the solid state speed controller that regulates the motor speed.

Wow, thanks Cougar!