2002 Toyota Corolla has a rough idle after replacing PCV valve

I have never done work on my car before except adding oil and a few other basic things. The vehicle has run great up until now, its just always had some oil consumption. The tail pipe is quite sooty and oily on the inside.

I did some research and it indicated that if there isn’t any colored smoke when running the engine, the PCV valve could be the cause of oil consumption. I took it to a local shop and they replaced the PCV valve (they wanted to do a $90 diagnostic but I sad no way). Its never had any kind of smoke coming out the tail pipe. Its definitely not an oil leak, I know that nature of such things because I’ve had a leaky car before. Its run great since but its been exactly a week since, and I noticed this morning that it has a “rough idle” when running. I’m not sure if I’m using such terms correctly but by rough idle I mean it chugs along.

I am getting wary of shops that just want to sell me unnecessary repairs and diagnostics but don’t know how to fix things myself. I’m a little afraid to try, I’d rather not be stranded at home. Could anyone recommend me on where to begin fixing things on my car? What tools I ought to get, where I should begin to learn?

Also if someone could figure out whats wrong with the Corolla atm that would be great.
I should mention the part they replaced the PCV with. Its a PCV1112DL.

It’s very possible that they accidentally disconnected a vacuum hose while they were fiddling around with the PCV.

First of all, any repair place that wants to run a diagnostic on a modern computer controlled vehicle is not out of line in my opinion. Most places waive that fee if they get to do the work. Most states will allow places like AutoZone to read codes. After getting codes the internet will let you see what they mean. As for do it yourself vehicle repair maybe one of the regular member mechanics can explain why that is not easy as it used to be.