200 Malibu Pressure Sensor and Sway Bar

Hi, I am a grad student, meaning money is tight, and would appreciate feedback on whether I need to make two fixes that my mechanic suggested.

First, my fuel tank pressure sensor is apparently blown. It seems like this is mainly a problem from an EPA standpoint, and because it might trigger the check engine light repeatedly. Are there safety issues I should worry about? The cost of repair was $228. Seem reasonable?

Second, there is apparently a crack in my sway bar. As the mechanic explained it, the bar is pinched when it connects to…the frame of the car, I guess, and is cracked at the pinch. The price here was steeper, $400 or more.

Any feedback is appreciated. I just want to make sure the car is safely drivable. Thanks!

The pressure sensor repair cost seems reasonable. As far as the sway bar is concerned, many cars used to have those as optional extras. It affects the sway and lean when you corner. If you are pinched for ash, I would not bother with that right now; just drive carefully.

That’s good to know, thank you. Is the pressure sensor a necessary fix, in your opinion?

@BloomingtonGrad

Both of the repairs appear to be priced fairly.

Does your state have an emissions program? If it does, you won’t pass with a bad fuel tank pressure sensor.

Does your state have a safety inspection? If it does, you might not pass. A sway bar is part of the suspension system and affects the vehicle’s handling. If I was doing the inspection, I wouldn’t pass the car.

Even if your state doesn’t have a safety inspection, I would get that sway bar taken care of, for the reasons I mentioned above.

We don’t have emissions testing or safety inspections, but I assumed the sway bar could be a safety concern. Thanks for your input!

You are fortunate, in that you have plenty of time to weigh your options.