200,000 miles?

I’m a college student with little money and need a car. Have found several possibilities, all with 200,000 + miles, which sounds really high to me. Could someone advise if any of these (all are 2000-2002) might be worth consideration: Subaru, Honda Civic, Mazda 626, Saturn. Thank you

My advice on any car with that kind of high mileage is brand goes out the window.

I would concentrate on a model without an automatic transmission if an option for you. A clutch/manual transmission is easy to tell condition with a normal driver. An automatic is a ticking time bomb at that mileage I could care less of brand.

My next thing would be to narrow down to any car with a known history of maintenance if possible and if performed.

Lastly and most importantly pay a trusted mechanic for a checkover. If you have none ask around. They will identify the issues (most likely will be) and what needs to be done right away or later. Do not try to save a buck here, otherwise you may end up with something requiring thousands of dollars more in repairs.

Again ignore brand at your mileage/age brand expect avoid euro makes simply due to higher repair costs.

Are Any Or All Of These Vehicles Driven On A Daily Basis, Right Now?

I mean, Are they licensed and insured and make trips of several miles at at time?
Cars like these that have been “parked” tend to scare me. I start to wonder why the vehicle was taken off the road.

Cheap, high miles, old cars are a dice roll. Nobody knows just when they’ll have the “Big One”. I’d go with one that is driven almost daily and has some proven maintenance, records if possible. I actually don’t think the car make is that important at 200,000 miles. They all got there. The proof is in the pudding.

You can choose the one you like best and see if the owner will let you have it checked by a mechanic. Poor maintenance plus 200,000 miles can equal a car that is possibly dangerous to drive.