2 bearings failed on subaru outback- no accidents!

So ive had a major issue with the used 2005 subaru outback ll bean edition i recently bought with 122k miles.

I got a deal on the vehicle with the disclaimer that it had road noise. This turned out to be a bearing (im not a mechanic btw). After the bearing got replaced i began having another problem… this turned out to be the front control arm assembly.

I recently had some new tires put on the car. A couple days after getting them (maybe right after… i didnt get a chance to test them on the highway for a few days) and i get terrible road noise again. This turned out to be a rear bearing. I get that fixed and now i have a headlight out.

My question is… it seems like everytime i have something fixed they send it back with a new problem… wait… not seems like… they definitely send it back with a new problem. Not talking about soon after the repair. Immediately after. Could the tire discounters have ruined my bearing while changing the tires? I read that bearings dont fail unless they were installed improperly or there was a wreck. Especially a rear bearing.

Now they open up my car and my headlight is out! Crazy

You bought a 11 year old vehicle with known noise problems and 122000 miles on it with most likely as little maintenance as possible. Replacing tires did not cause your bearing problems.

This is a case where you should find a independent shop and pay for a serious inspection to see what else is wrong .

Stuff happens on an old car. Changing the headlight is cheap if you do it yourself. You will probably need to change the side markers and tail lights soon, too.

There’s a reason you got a “deal” on it! As mentioned, please find a competent independent mechanic to determine what else might be wrong before spending more money. AWD vehicles are more expensive to keep running if something goes wrong.

Have your other wheel bearings checked. If 2 failed then the other 2 are probably on the way out as well.