1994 toyota truck idling issue

My 94 truck (Toyota 6 cylinder 3VZ engine) is currently idling at ~2000 when I first start the engine. After warming up or driving for a substantial amount of time, this eventually drops to ~1000-1100.

I had the throttle body removed and cleaned (twice). This stopped some up-and-down revving which was happening, but not the high idling.

This is a relatively recent development, and I’ve gone to 3 mechanics AND the dealer, all of whom say, ‘it’s fine’. They say it should run ‘a little higher when it’s cold’. I think some of these assessments were based on the simple lack of engine error messages (no codes from the computer = no problem).

I admit that I’m no expert, but I’ve had the truck for a decade; I know what’s ‘fine’ and what’s not. The usual idle was ~800 (in agreement with specs) and I’ve driven this truck in temps down to -30F. It has never idled this high before.

Since it gets close to normal RPMs after warming up, I don’t want to turn the idle adjustment down. I moved from a very cold, very dry climate at 6000 ft to a very wet, moderately cold climate at sea level - is there some other adjustment I need to make? Or is it normal for this engine to run so differently in these two climates? I’m at the end of my rope since no one thinks it’s a problem except me. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

One of the primary inputs to the computer when starting a cold engine is the coolant temp sensor. Depending on the signal from this sensor is what dictates the engine RPM’s at a cold start. This done so the engine heats up as fast as possible to help reduce emissions.

These coolant temp sensors can fail where they send a signal to the computer indicating the coolant is colder than it actually is. This can cause a higher cold start idle than required.