1993 4Runner vs 2011 Mazda3 Hatch

I’m conflicted between these two cars
4Runner $4700 (193,000)
Mazda3 need to talk them down from $6900 to ~$5000 (120,000)

On one hand, the 4Runner is cheaper upfront, has more storage space, and has everything done to it that I would’ve probably done, and has almost new everything right now. However, its MPG is horrible compared to the Mazda3’s mpg which would save me money in the long run and it has lower mileage even though I know 4runners can go for a long time.
I’m just thinking because over the years yes I would have to do things to the Mazda that I would want to do to make it look more of the way I want and stuff and possibly some things will need to be fixed but it would also save me thousands in gas in the long run so I don’t know which one I should do. 4runners storage is very helpful as I’m a college student and I ride a bike. Idk I just need advice, if I didn’t give enough info just comment and ask and I’ll try my best. Thanks!

You are comparing apples to hamsters with these choices.

Mazda wins hands down because the 4Runner is 28 years old with nearly 200k.

4 Likes

Yeah probably, I’m just super conflicted because my brother works with cars as his job and he’s talking to me like it’s a no brainer that I should go with the 4runner and the dude said he’s only taking $4700 if I come Sunday. I just feel super pressured.

Super pressured is the worst way to buy a car. Don’t buy what your brother wants, buy what you want.

Be sure and pay your mechanic to check out any vehicle you want to buy before you buy it. Best money you can spend.

1 Like

Another vote for Mazda. 1993 is a little old,