Looking for Advice on a Used Car I'm Looking to Buy

Hey all,

I’m looking to buy a 2004 Mazda 3 S on Tuesday morning from a private seller. A little bit of background: I’m a recent college graduate who moved a few months back from NYC to Austin, Texas. Seeing as I never needed a car in NYC, I’ve never had one. But now that I need one, I’m finding myself wishing I knew more about the mechanical side.

Well it looks like I found the perfect car – with one caveat, however. It has a 109k miles, the Carfax checks out clean, and it passed a pre-buy inspection from a local mechanic. Added to that, I got the price down from the asking price of 4800 bux to 3850. I’m pretty pleased and am only waiting for the seller to get the title mailed from his folks in Galveston ,TX.

Here’s the question I have though – the car appears to burn oil. Let me explain:

I met with the seller, who I met over Craigslist, yesterday and, after a test drive, I had it inspected by the mechanic. He found nothing to worry about (there are a few things like radiator hoses and the power steering fluid that, since they’re originals, he advised replacing at the next maintenance appt) EXCEPT that there was very little oil in the car. The seller claims that the car loses oil but was vehement in the fact that there was no leaks – the mechanic couldn’t find any. The seller said that his mechanic advised switching to a more viscous oil, which he proceeded to pull out of the trunk and put in. He also pulled out proof of regular oil changes and an oil change within the last five months.

Now my question: while the mechanic said it was a great deal and the oil is nothing to worry about, is it? Does it mean that, considering the mileage already on the car, the engine could melt down soon? There was no smoke, the car drove amazingly (seriously, one of the best manual cars I’ve yet driven), and there are definitely no leaks. Would switching to a thicker oil actually fix this?

Thanks in advance!