1989 Saab 900 Turbo

my car won’t start. It’s been idle for 3 yrs. I put a new battery in yesterday, and it clicks. Any suggestions?

See if you’re able to turn the engine over by hand using a breaker bar and socket on the crankshaft bolt.

Tester

Could you be more specific. I’m new at this…what’s a breaker bar, and where would the crankshaft be? thanks

Rhettel,

Based on your brief response of “what’s a breaker bar and where’s the crankshaft” I’m going to assume you don’t want us to literally tell you how to repair the car, but are more or less looking for a suggestion of what should be done? Yes/no?

Is this car an auto or a stick shift? How many miles on it and was it in a garage or outside? We’ll go from there about your best option.

The car is an auto, 178,000, garage kept x 3yrs. I am looking for a suggestion and anything else you can provide. I got this website from the papers that were in the car. So, I am new at this. As you can tell.

Rhettel,

Here’s the situation. While I am a fan of the classic Saabs, and the motor in this car is fairly stout, you’re looking at some cash to get things squared away. First off, even if you can get the engine to turn over the fuel in the car is no good. Fuel has a life of about 3 months and then starts to fade. After 3 years it will possibly have gummed up some of the fuel system and will be all but useless, requiring you to have it drained from the gas tank. You’ll then need to flush the fuel lines.