1989 Honda Accord Muffler- do it ourselves?

I saw on the main site changing a muffler is listed as a relatively easy repair. We are not keen on spending money we don’t have on repairs we can do. Is it cost-effective to do this at home? Is it safe with back of car on ramps? Pls. be kind, I am a total newbie save listening to Click and Clack since 1990 I believe.

The problem you’ll run into is removing the three rusty bolts/nuts that connect the muffler flange to the extension pipe flange. Once you get past that, then it’s just a matter of installing the new muffler with new bolts/nuts and a flange gasket.

Tester

This is not a job I like to do. If you’ve never worked on exhaust systems, it’s not much fun, rusty hardware, difficult to separate parts, that kind of thing. I don’t know about Hondas, they may be easier. What other car repairs have you done? What tools do you have?

I advise you to take the car to a muffler shop. On the surface changing a muffler out might seem to be a bone simple job. In reality, it often turns out to be wrestlting match.

Cutting torch, air chisels, hacksaw, Sawzall, etc. may be needed to get the muffler off and installing the new one may take an assortment of tubing expanders, sleeves, and a welding torch may be needed.

Buy a muffler and take it to a muffler shop. They can cut the old one off and weld the new one on in a few minutes.
There’s a reason why most shops and mechanics don’t fool with muffler work and farm it out.

So I’d need a torch, hacksaw and body armor?
I really appreciate these experienced answers. Actually my husband will appreciate them more… sounds like a muffler shop is best.