1980 vw rabbit diesel safe?

I want to buy a restored 1980 VW Rabbit Diesel (from my grandfather). I am a new driver and I would be driving to school 22 miles each way every day. My dad had this same car and got amazing millage and outstanding reliability. I feel like this would be a perfect car for me. My mom is a little skeptical on the safety though. I think it’s safe enough, even with out airbags, and the diesel won’t be able to get me going fast enough to get in too much trouble, and it’s a smaller car so it’s a smaller target. Is this car safe enough and will it be a good car for a high school student driving 44 miles everyday?

Yes I think it would be a great car for you. While air bags are a nice for safety. Being a good driver is sill better. You will hear from others on here that I think are afraid of their own shadows. Some people think you need every safety feature thats available. My first car was a 1966 Dodge Dart 2 door. I survived as did many others. I have seen a VW Beetle go head on into a 75 Fleetwood Caddy. The Beetle sill drove and the guy walk away on hurt. The Caddy was towed away and the driver was hurt. I have seen airbags not save people too. The best protection is be aware of the cars around you. Drive safe and enjoy your Rabbit. Oh and make your Grandfather proud and take good care of it.

If the car is not overly priced and is mechanically sound then I would say go for it. These cars are simple to service and have been known to get 55-60 MPG.

If you buy this car you might consider carrying an extra glow plug fuse along in the glove box and learn how to change it; just in case. The fuses are cheap, easy to swap, and learning how to do this procedure would be a good idea.

Newer cars will have air bags and crumple zones to keep the driver and passengers safer. But if you drive defensively, You will make it through just fine.