1980 Jeep CJ7 Carburator Problem

I have been driving a blue 1980 CJ7 for the past 20 years. After blowing a head gasket at 140,000 miles I had the engine rebuilt in yr 2000. I also had a rebuilt Holley carburator installed in yr 2003. The last carburator adjustment was performed in Feb 2009 at 171,000 miles. Current mileage is 183,000 and the car has an annoying hesitation problem when driving up hills at any RPM level, and often when lugged down in 3rd or 4th gear. The problem really manifests itself into a jerking, bucking bronco when refueled with an 87 octane gas with 10% alcohol mixture. I have to add a $10 gas additive to get it back to a driveable condition which then returns to the occasional annoying hesitation problem. Any advice? I’m willing to have a new carburator installed if that’s what it takes to get Ol’ Blue purring like she’s never purred before!

You might check the timing and both timing advance mechanisms.

You might want to take the carb apart and look at the condition of the accelerator pump. If the diaphram/plunger is stiff or hardened that’s what the ethanol is doing to the rest of the fuel system.

I had a 79 Mercury when Minnesota mandated that E10 be the mandatory motor fuel in the state in 1992. Once that happened, I had to rebuild the carburator in that car every 8-12 months from the damage the ethanol caused to the rubber/plastic/brass components. I got so good at it, I could have the carb off, rebuilt, and reinstalled in less than an hour.

Tester

This thread raises an interesting question: a 2003 car should be able to use 10% ethanol without problems, but will a carburator rebuilt in 2003? Will the parts used be compliant with the new formulations? I wonder.

The first thing I’d check would probably be the fuel line pressure.