1979 MGB oil change interval

I have a 1979 MGB. 95,000 or so. No issues and I am an old diesel engineer mechanic from a previous career with Caterpillar. We all know we can change or should change the oil on newer cars when the change oil light comes on. 50000 - 10,0000 based on the type of oil even. My question is for those antique cars we drive around in Sundays. In my past profession we would change the oil in Diesel engines generators, once a year regardless of hours run. We were instructed to tell the owner, conventional oil degrades even though the oil has few hours. I run a high mileage synthetic in my 1979 MGB and have for 4 years now. Runs great, good oil pressure hot and cold. If I am only putting 1000 miles a year on synthetic oils can I run 5 years totaling 5000 miles. Right now I change the oil and filter once a years regardless. Oh and one more thing - your drop down menu for model has not choices anddoes not work for MG so I had to change to Morgan the make to submit the question.

1 Like

That is the proper thing to do . As you are a mechanic I am surprised you even have to ask this question . And modern vehicles that have the oil life monitors still have mileage and time ( in months) listed in the owner manual.

Hmm… Ya I get it, but do synthetics breakdown like conventional? I have not heard one way or the other from the manufactures of said products only hearsay or opinion from those who think they are wise.

Why would you ask about synthetic oil ? That MGB was not designed for synthetic oil . And if you have a newer vehicle the manual will specify what to use , what more do you need to know .
Just go to oil manufactures web sites and you will find all you need to know.

I don’t think the breaking down of the oil is the issue

It’s getting all the other contaminants and moisture out.

3 Likes