1950 Buick Special starts, idles, but dies when given gas...help?

From an idle, the car dies if I give it a lot of gas; however, if I slowly try to get the RPM’s up, it’ll run and I can rev the engine so long as the rpm’s are up.

Any thoughts on my problem?

I had the carburetor rebuilt, tank resealed, no work to fuel pump, could use new plugs and wires, did put on new points, distributor cap, coil. But I am by no means an expert mechanic.

Back to the basics I guess. If it just stumbled some on acceleration, I’d say the accelerator pump but doesn’t sound like that. A fuel pump would likely give you low end performance but not at the higher rpm. So guess I’d be rechecking point gap. Was the oil cleaned off the contacts before installing etc. General spark condition. Other thing would be maybe the carb is set a little too lean.

The way I read it, it does just stumble off the line so it is likely the accel pump. ClubHabel, take off the air cleaner and look into the carb with the engine running. Do you see a squirt of fuel going into the upper end of the carb when you work the throttle cable off idle position?

If I recall correctly, that model car had a vacuum advance on the distributor, make sure it is working correctly. I beleive the distributor also had weights in it, check that these are not stuck.

I agree also with the accelerator pump.

Did the 50s still have manual adjustable chokes on the engines?

Some thoughts: Accelerator pump is the first thing I’d look at, (although that should have been replaced if the carburetor was rebuilt); then fuel filter; then check of the fuel pump to see if it is furnishing fuel at good pressure. You might also replace any flexible fuel hoses; sometimes these can deteriorate and begin to clog up or collapse under vacuum.

The vacuum advance may be causing the distrubutor to ground the points. Disconnect the vacuum to the advance pot and drive it.