06' Fusion/ Milan rearend wiggle

Attention all Ford Fusion and Mercury Milan owners, curious if any other have experienced this nasty characteristic…of the rear end wiggling in winter driving conditions. Case in point 06’ Milan Primere., no traction control or all wheel drive.

To attempt to better describe the road conditions ;

The road conditions can be snow packed rutty uneven, or half the lane covered in snow and half clear. Or crossing a frosty bridge/ overpass. Or the thin layer of semi-slush state and or the dreaded black ice condition.

1st off we are pretty happy over all with this car, except for the wiggling that it does under winter driving conditions.

It does it, this wiggle/swaying on the rear end more noticeably under ?half the lane covered in snow and half clear?, and the ?thin layer of semi-slush state?.

Now to be clear, I am a life time resident of the mid west and have driven under these conditions numerous times with several different vehicle types, front wheel drive and rear wheel drive cars to all wheel drive , from vans to trucks. Non of the prior vehicles have driven like this without some kind of issue mechanically.

What it does is that the rear end starts swaying, (without input from the steering wheel, I hold that as still as possible ). as you travel over and pass the one of the road conditions listed above. For simplicity sake we stick with ?half the lane covered in snow and half clear?, and or the ?thin layer of semi-slush state? of road condition. As you pass over this road condition the rear end starts to wiggle and or sway. This is rather unnerving to us and to those on the road around us. To clarify we are not trying to drive too fast for the road conditions, cause it can happen as low as 30mph. To maybe better describe this wiggle, It feels like 30yr old 2 wheel drive pickup that is over loaded by 500lbs and a low rear tire. The only way we get it to stop is to let of the gas ?.and not hit the brakes!