05 Dakota a couple of issues

I own a 2005 Dodge Dakota with a 4.7 4x4 extended cab truck. I am not a mechanic by any means and some of the lingo I do not understand. My truck has been acting up for a few months now. One day while I was driving the truck barely would go over 50 when it would get to 50 it would start chugging and it would do that until it got to 55. I noticed that the cruise light would turn off during this, so whenever I would leave I would start the truck and press the cruise button, if the light turned on then the truck wouldn’t do the chugging at 50. If the light didn’t turn on I would need to shut the truck off and then turn it back on and see if the light would come on. I took it to a couple of mechanics who just laughed and said “yup, that’s a dodge. Just turn it off and turn it back on again”. They always seemed to have a story about how their dodge insert model would do something and they had to turn it off and turn it back on. So I just dealt with the issue.