05 BMW X3 smoking out of exhaust

So much like the title states, I have a 05 BMW X3 with a 3.0L inline V6 that smokes upon starting. It doesn’t seem to occur all of the time but occasionally I will notice a large white cloud of smoke billowing form the exhaust. The dealership says that this usually do to a defective “oil separator”. I have no experience changing this part and was wondering if this would be a plausible repair for a weekend warrior type mechanic. I got quoted form the dealership close to $1,200 total to replace the part although I have NOT had them run diagnostics on it.

An inline V-6?
Wow! I would really like to see that unique engine!
;-))

Anyway, in addition to a defective oil separator, this can be due to badly worn valve guide seals.
If that is the case, and if the rate of oil consumption (you did not tell us about this factor) is not high, then you can just ignore the smoke while continuing to closely monitor the oil level.

This could also be related to using motor oil other than the expensive European specification oil called for by BMW, or it could be due to using very long oil change intervals.

How about filling in the blanks regarding the vehicle’s odometer mileage, the grade/brand/specification of oil that has been used, how often the oil is changed (in terms of both miles and months), and the rate of oil consumption in terms of X qt per 1,000 miles?