02 galant 4cly overheating after timing belt change

Help! 02 galant 4cly overheating! So my Galant has 120k miles and I just had the timing belt replaced and I thought I’d be good and have the water pump replaced as well. When I got it back I made a few short trips with it and it was running fine then I took a longer trip about 30 miles and I noticed it was overheating, so I took it back to the shop they thought it was air in the cooling system so they preformed a few flushes, replaced the thermostat even though it was new and then replaced the pump again and the radiator cap, the radiator it’s self was replaced maybe 1-2k miles ago. I don’t believe the head is leaking since I’m not losing coolant and the oil isn’t milky…I’m at a loss, could the thermostat be the problem? Do I need one from the dealer? Is there a history with replacement pumps bad? Help??? - clear

@SAmikek

I’ve had some bad experiences using aftermarket cooling system components

I once even had a bad new thermostat which caused overheating

It seems I’m gonna have to pay for dealer parts… I’m totally confused at this point…

@SAmikek

I’ve also had some good experience with aftermarket parts

Let me put it another way . . .

Most of the time, aftermarket parts work correctly

But in some circumstances . . .

JMHO, but it’s difficult for me to buy into the possibility of 2 bad new thermostats and 2 bad new water pumps.

Has proper operation of the cooling fans been considered? This means as related to both engine coolant temperature and operation of the A/C compressor.

This could be caused by the valve timing being off due to a botched timing belt replacement.