'01 Century gas/exhaust smell from heater [Solved]

I have a 2001 Buick Century, ~120,000 miles that a couple months ago started smelling like gas or exhaust+gas when the heat was turned on. I’ve changed the cabin air filter. I don’t know how much that could have ever helped.
I couldn’t find a gas leak in the engine compartment, but I didn’t give it a really close inspection.
Where should I check for the most likely leak? Or could it be more of a problem with the cabin air intake?
Any help would be great. I’m a grad student so lots of mechanic time is out of my budget. Thanks.

If the smell is really exhaust gas then you need to have the exhaust system inspected and repaired. Carbon monoxide is very dangerous and can easily accumulate in the vehicle cabin. The cabin air filter cannot block carbon monoxide because it is a gas and will enter easily along with regular air. The cabin air intake is necessary and there is no way to seal the cabin from carbon monoxide if it is present. Adjust your budget and get the exhaust system repaired immediately. Roll down your windows if you must drive the vehicle.

You have an exhaust or fuel leak. Both of these can spell death.

So if you don’t have the money, park the car until you do. But just because you ask someone to look at it doesn’t mean it will take lots of time or be expensive.

If you’re determined to figure it out yourself, dig up $20 for a repair manual from an auto parts store. There will be a chapter on fuel & exhaust systems. At the very least you can familiarize yourself with it. “Typing” people through it by internet is unlikely to be possible or fruitful.