Left foot braking

Anything wrong with routinely using left foot to brake? (Any model with automatic transmission, ignore Make/Model selection)

Nothing wrong with left foot braking; I’ve been doing it since 1965 (on automatic cars), and feel I have better control of the car. If cars were originally designed with automatic, everyone would be braking with their left foot.

There is an extensive thread on this already; it has many sceptics saying left foot braking is dangerous. Read it for interest.

We’ve had long debates on this issue. Many agree with Doc. Many, myself included, feel it’s safer to use only one foot. This I believe programss your brain to not press both pedals at once in an emergency.

The only consensus we ever reached on this was that there are two opposing opinions and neither will every change the other’s mind. And that only proves that intelligent, educated people who share similar innate abilities can look at the same data and form diametrically opposed conclusions. That’s the beauty of life.

For about my first 20 years of driving the only thing I ever drove were manuals. In my case I think that left foot braking would be dangerous largely b/c my left foot would be too spastic to control the brake well - its good with a clutch though.

In general, though I am in the camp would say that when the brake is required there should be nothing hovering around the accelerator pedal - like another foot.

If you’re driving stick, then you need the left foot for the clutch, so it won’t be free for the brake. Left foot braking is a habit that translates poorly to manual transmission. If you only ever drive an auto, it does not matter. Since you’re going to stall out a lot or possibly not even get out of the driveway if you don’t unlearn this habit when driving stick, it is a problem that will correct itself if you do switch to manual.